Skip to content

Creamy broccoli soup : vegan

Are we carnivore or vegetarian by nature?…. ‘Drink soy milk, no, soy is bad for you. So is Tofu. Yogurt and peanuts are evil’…>.<….I read so many books on this and still haven’t got the answer. It’s like a religion – you question and debate all day long but no one knows the truth….So what the heck, I’m going to eat whatever that taste good to me. I have a group of friends, one of them is a vegan, one of them is a vegetarian, one of them only eats chicken, and their boyfriends and husbands are meat eaters. So when they want to come over for dinner……I say….’Aghhhhh….Let’s go out!’
I eat meat  but I do enjoy good vegetarian/vegan dishes. I love sweetness of coconut oil based dish and my tummy feels good after eating them. Believe it or not, my favorite place to go out is either raw food restaurant (Alchemy arts center) or vegan restaurant (Adama vegan) and I eat gluten free toasts. HaHa 🙂 Enjoy this creamy, vegan, gluten free deliciousness! Now, if you would excuse me, I’m going to make my way back to the freezer and get a scoop of full-fat dulce de leche ice cream.

Ingredients
1 bunch of broccoli (washed and chopped)
Half of onion chopped
2 small cloves garlic (1 big clove)
1 teaspoon chopped fresh rosemary
1 teaspoon chopped fresh thyme
1 cup hot low sodium vegetable broth
1 cup coconut milk beverage (not the one in a can that you use for curry. You can use rice milk or almond milk if you like. But I prefer coconut milk for this recipe.)
1 cup  hot water
2 Tablespoon coconut oil
2 Tablespoon garbanzo bean flour
Olive oil
Salt & pepper

Preparation


1.  Heat olive oil and sweat chopped onions
2.  Add garlic, thyme and rosemary and cook till garlic gets slightly brown


3. Add  chopped broccolis and cook till soft
4. Take out broccoli mixture from the pot and set it aside


5. In the same pot, melt coconut oil and add garbanzo bean flour to make ‘Roux’. Keep stirring till it thickens.
6. Add broccoli mixture back into the pot. Stir to combine.
7. Add hot vegetable stock, water, coconut milk and simmer.


8.Kill the heat. Add chopped parsley and puree it with your favorite blender or hand mixture.
9. Back on to the heat. Simmer till right consistency, salt and pepper to taste.

3 Comments Post a comment
  1. Thanks for sharing – love soups, stews and chili this time of year. Have a Happy New Year!!!

    December 30, 2011
  2. Love broccoli soup and I like that you used coconut milk… looks really delicious, have a great New Year 2012. 🙂

    December 30, 2011
  3. HAPPY NEW YEAR TO YOU TOO!!! XOXO

    December 31, 2011

Leave a Reply

